Board of Regents

The laws of New Mexico provide for a Board of Regents that is responsible for the governance of the University of New Mexico. The Board’s power to govern the University includes fiduciary responsibility for the assets and programs of the University, establishment of goals and policies to guide the University, and oversight of the functioning of the University.

The board is comprised of seven members who are appointed by the Governor of New Mexico, with the consent of the Senate, for staggered terms of six years. A student regent is appointed for a two-year term. The Governor and the Secretary of Education are designated as ex-officio, non-voting members. The presidents of the Faculty Senate, Staff Council, Associated Students of UNM, Graduate and Professional Student Association, Alumni Association, Parent Association, Retiree Association, and UNM Foundation are non-voting advisors.

The Regents

  • Douglas M. Brown, President
  • Kimberly Sanchez Rael, Vice President
  • Sandra K. Begay, Secretary Treasurer
  • Jack Fortner
  • William H. Payne
  • Robert L. Schwartz
  • Randy Ko, Student Regent

Regents’ Non-Voting Advisors

  • Muskan (Mia) Amin, Associated Students of UNM President
  • Finnie Coleman, Faculty Senate President
  • Chad Cooper, Alumni Association President
  • Kevin Malloy, Retiree Association President
  • Nikhileswara (Nikhil) Naguru, Graduate and Professional Student Association
  • Daniel Perea, Parent Association President
  • Nancy Shane, Staff Council President
  • Randy Velarde, UNM Foundation Chair